Red tape


Besides having a baby, nothing makes you realize you’ve crossed the threshold into adulthood like shopping for life insurance. It’s a rather morbid but necessary process when you have offspring that rely on your financial support. So back in January, Casey and I researched life insurance policies online. We could have met with a local agent in person, but this seemed so much EASIER. You just fill out an online form, get a variety of quotes, pick what you want, and then the company sends a nurse to your door–free of charge–to do a basic health exam. Then, voila, you’re covered for 10 to 30 years, depending on how much you want to pay. What they don’t tell you is that this process can and does take MONTHS. We had the health exams back in February. Casey’s policy, which was free of virtually any complexities, finally came through in mid-April. Mine, however, was a mess. To make a long and boring story short(er), I have mitral valve prolapse, which is a harmless heart defect, but insurers are wary of it and wanted to see all my medical records. They happened to be spread out over three states, so it took numerous calls and permission forms completed by both me and the insurance company to obtain all those records. Finally, I got word two weeks ago that all the information was assembled and I should have a policy any day now. Then, the other day, I got a phone call:

Insurance lady: Ma’m, I’m sorry to inform you that your application for life insurance has been denied.

Kristin: Whaaaa?

IL: According to the company, they’d like to see you maintain a steady weight for at least a year.

K: *splutter, splutter* Um, I was PREGNANT for the past year! That MAY have affected my weight a little bit!

IL: Oh. *pause* Er, did you mention that at your medical exam?

K: Yes! And the baby is listed on my policy! With his birthdate: November of 2009!

IL: Hmm. Well, I will look into this, but it will likely take three to four weeks.

K: *huge sigh* You know what? Never mind.

I hopped on my computer and immediately bought term life insurance with “no medical exam required.” It cost a bit more, but I was insured within 15 minutes. Hmph.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Red tape

  1. Steve (Max's Grandpa) Kauffman says:

    OK now. You got a Life Insurance Policy when you were born good for the amazing sum of $5,000! Guess that may not be enough to put Max through college:)

Leave a comment